“Kyun” by Call — the band

in #song5 years ago (edited)
SongBandAlbum
Why (Kyun)CallWidespread Glory (Dhoom)

Sharing another translation of an Urdu rock song so that more people, who don’t speak the language, may also enjoy it. The song is available on Spotify and YouTube.

Translating poetry is not very straightforward, the translation is far from perfect. An attempt has been made to capture the theme and message of the lyrics, in contrast to translating literally.

Cues are added in parentheses “()” to help readers align the translation while listening to the original song. Any feedback is more than welcome. Enjoy!


(kyun chupa…)
Why is it like hidden, from me, this truth of mine?
Why is it like black, every colour of mine?

(aks bhi…)
My reflection too asks me
What am I and what is my reason?

(Woahhhh…)
(Woah…) Exhausted, am I
But why falling am I?

(kyun raha…)
Why I stayed in the darknesses?
Why I had a grudge?

(thee mairee…)
Was mine, this life
Was mine, this decision

(ghoomta hoon…)
I whirl in these questions
Since the dream I had, is dead

(dar raha…)
My own shadow frightens me
So in the darknesses, I am living

(Woahhhh…)
(Woah…) Halted, have I?
Or moving am I?

(kyun raha…)
Why I stayed in the darknesses?
Why I had a grudge?

(thee mairee…)
Was mine, this life
Was mine, this decision

(kyun raha…)
Why I stayed in the darknesses? [x3]
Was mine, this decision

(kyun raha…)
Why I stayed in the darknesses?
Why I had a grudge?

(thee mairee…)
Was mine, this life
Was mine, this decision

(kyun rahoon…)
Why should I stay in the darknesses?
Why should I have a grudge?
Is, my life
This is my decision

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85