Song Challenge Day 50 - A Reggae Song

in #song-challenge5 years ago

I really struggled with this one. The thing is I don't really listen to reggae. Certainly I've heard reggae songs, but it's not something I listen to normally. In these song challenge posts, I try to stick to songs I really really like. I used to listen to quite a bit of third-wave ska, and first wave ska was born out of reggae, but that seemed like a stretch. Plus the only ska that I know that even remotely resembles reggae is The Specials or Desmond Dekker. But again, it's not really music that I listen to on a regular basis.

So I decided to go with reggaeton. Reggaeton is a genre born out of Puerto Rico. It is not reggae, but a lot of the rhythms are derived from reggae. Daddy Yankee is considered the godfather of reggaeton, but if you have never checked out Calle 13, I would recommend it. They're good mix of Hip Hop, activism, and they experiment with genres a lot, while still maintaining their own sound. This was the first song I heard by them. It's not my favorite Calle 13 song, but it typifies their early reggaeton sound.

Sort:  

This is an interesting sounding genre, @methus! I'm personally not too big of a fan of reggae, but this tune that you've shared with us is really unique! Thanks for sharing this with us :) Looking forward to discovering new sounds from your future posts! You’ve just got a full upvote from us.

Best Regards,
Blue Baikal
https://www.bluebaikal.io/en


Image of Blue Baikal Logo

✬ Join the contest at Blue Baikal and receive rewards! ✬
✬ --- Go to Blue Baikal --- ✬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43