📀✨ It's Something Quite Peculiar


There are so many amazing songs out there in the world, especially after almost 70 years of modern Rock & Pop music. But there is always one song (or maybe more) that sticks out, and no matter how many times you hear it, it never gets old. Today's entry in the @connecteconomy's 30-day #song-challenge is such a song. Read this post for more info.


DAY 11: A SONG YOU NEVER GET TIRED OF

Sometimes when this place gets kind of empty
Sound of their breath fades with the light

 
Back in 1988, the Australian alternative Rock band The Church released a single from their 5th album Starfish.

Starfish_album.jpg
image source

The single sat in the middle of the charts, but was awarded as the Single of the Year in 1989 by the ARIA Music Awards. Twenty years later it was voted the best Australian song of the last twenty years.

I've yet to meet anyone who doesn't love this song. And in many respects, it's somewhat under-rated. It's not a song you hear around that much, but everyone knows it and loves it, and would rate it high.

R150956314642095381717.jpeg.jpg
image source

LISTEN TO THIS TRACK ON THE STEEMIT SOUNDS SOUNDTRACK

 

Wish I knew what you were looking for

 

 
The writer of the song, Steve Kilbey, is a unique figure in Australian music, who is often highly critical of lots of things, most of all the Australian music industry. When this track won Single of the Year in 1989, he refused to accept the award, saying "I don't give a fuck about winning that award."

1988 was an interesting year. A lot of the classic rock bands were celebrating 20 year anniversaries and gaining a resurgence from a younger generation who were sick and tired of the bloated, over-produced crap that was being churned out on FM radio. Old music was in, new music was banal and mediocre.

But there was also something important starting to happen in the alternative music scene, which wouldn't really hit big for a couple of years.

The Church had been around since the early 80's, contemporaries of the British Goth scene that spawned iconic acts such as The Cure, Echo & the Bunnymen, and Siouxsie & the Banshees. Moving away from the highly-polished produced sound, their music was dreamy, mellow, and melodic. And there was a subtle undertone of "rock" to be heard in guitar breaks.

For me this song held the promise of something different in a modern sound. It had all the stylings of pop music, but could break out into a great guitar solo. It was the idea that a Rock band could play more than just heavy, rock music.

 
I tried to find a version of this song with a symphony orchestra accompaniment, as it is truly amazing to hear. The 2006 Commonwealth Games in Melbourne featured this in their Closing Ceremony, and that has haunted me ever since. Luckily, The Church released a live album recorded at the Sydney Opera House. I highly recommend listening to it.

maxresdefault.jpg
image source

Enjoy the tunes!
😊🙏🏽☯️



MADE FOR STEEMIT
Soundtrack for this post can be found on this month’s STEEMIT SOUNDS playlist

Sort:  

I found you through the comments you wrote on @steevc 's post. My husband said he has heard this music before. I really like it. Thanks for posting listening to it now. :)

Hey! Nice to meet you. Glad you’re enjoying the tunes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

you are welcome :) yes we are all over the world loving music.. :)

I love this song! I actually made a video to a tv show using this song a few years back! It's a great tune!

Any chance of sharing a link to that here in the comments? Please do....

Posted using Partiko iOS

If I can find the video, I will. Due to the copyrights I was unable to put it up on anything like YouTube, but I will look for it and if I can find it, I will put it on my google drive or somewhere, but it has literally been years so I'm not sure I even know where it is at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75