Ode To A Soldier

in #soldier7 years ago

gamer-soldier-orig.jpg
Image from hswstatic

Blame not for what you see
Pain, death, misery,
For, I also stand and gaze
Upon this shattered scene
And wonder deep within my soul
Of why this thing has been
This lush pasture that was once
A pleasant, pleasant land, now is dark. now is gone,
As time, a grain sand.

Not I, for I am but a tool
For governments so great,
That try with every life they wake
To make these mortals break,
But man is made of such greatness
That even death is handsome,
In its reward of heaven
Hell has no place for the souls of such men.

Warm sunlight fall on scattered bones,
Women, children, all are there,
With only death sweet to touch the air,
Only death sweet the kind,
Has released the agony of these minds,
It came not as falling leaves
Gently as the morn,
But hell and fury, cries and fear,
Was death to those who are resting here.

Will they rest? Who can tell,
Not I, I cannot see,
For this rifle on my back is martyr's cross to me,
To make this land free.

But I am a soldier,
This is my life
I wished it not to be,
I wished not the shadow of this same death
To spread its wings on me,
I have killed, I have maimed,
Within my sight all i could see
Is what i was told, the enemy,
Such words, words will not mend the hate,
The destruction in the hearts of men.

All this, war, hate and pain.
This must be, for man is a victim of his own inheritance
Of which death is the only glory.
Man is a soldeir,
Death come not easy to a soldier
[Credit JUDITHE LIMBACHIA]

Thank for reading

Does a soldier feel responsible for the destruction caused by war?

Reply with your answer

Upvote if you find it interesting

Resteem to your followers.

Thanks From MR.GOSSIP JAMES @gossipmill

Sort:  

It all depends on the personality of the soilder
just like not everyone will feel guilty for a wrong doing
You will agree with me several movies has prove that
This poem is simply the life of a soilder
Nice one

o.k. I concur with you

Thanks for seeing that with mw

Agree with you.
This post recieved an upvote & comment from mahbubalam. If you would like to recieve upvotes comment from mahbubalam on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @mahbubalam

You are not sincere, you never upvote but to spam around

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26