How an Afghan Special Force Soldier lost his legs?

in #soldier7 years ago (edited)

His name is Sharafudin. He is from southern Kunduz province of Afghanistan. Seven years ago, he joined Afghan National Army as Special Forces soldier.
Over these years, he joined many night operations in extremely insecure provinces where Taliban has more influence and control than the government, like Kandahar, Helmand and so forth.
shoryayyekamd.jpg
UNFORTUNATELY, last year when he was on a night mission in Bolan district of northern Helmand province, he lost both his legs in a landmine explosion. HIS LIFE BECAME DARK.
Untitled-2.jpg
Sharafudin is father of two. His little daughter, boy and his wife live far away from him in Kunduz while he lives alone in a foundation in Afghanistan's capital.
When I asked him why you do not go back to Kunduz or bring your family here?, he sadly replied: "I can not go back to Kunduz, because Taliban will kill me and I am very weak to defend myself. And I can bring my family to Kabul too, because I do not have enough money to rent a home for them".
At the end of my interview with him, I asked, What is your future plan?
He sighed painfully and then shortly answered: "I have no future."
Off-the-record I tried to encourage him to live his life with joy, try his best for his kids future and write a book of his war stories. I KNOW THESE WORDS HAD NO IMPACT ON HIM AT THE TIME.
Untitled-1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53