Solar Eclipse at about 90%

in #solareclipse7 years ago (edited)

I live high up in the mountains of Colorado. We are in the 90% range of totality for the eclipse.

I poked a hole in a piece of paper with a hole punch and headed outside.

It never got dark, but seems....cloudy with no clouds to be seen.

I stood with the sun behind me and held the paper so the sun would shine through.

Here's a couple of pics and a little video (okay, no video... it's seriously not cool enough to upload).

IMG_20170821_111915.jpg

And on the way out...
IMG_20170821_111938.jpg

Terribly underwhelming. 😁

Enjoy 😎.

Edit to add: I was off an hour! My post WAS at the beginning of the eclipse. I'm now smack dab in the middle of it, but a pesky cloud showed up. I'd add more pics, but can't figure out how in the edit portion.

Sort:  

It's still happening. I think I caught the up end. It's quite...dark now. Pretty weird.... Tried to get more pics, but they all look the same. Strangely, when I get a sudden reflection of the sun from my phone, it appears totally normal. #nature #whoa

I believe I jumped the gun on this one. It's getting darker still....

For those with a good eye: Yes, that's a cannabis plant. 😎

I tried to take some footage of it as well over in Washington but phone cameras just aren't cut out for eclipses. Your pictures are actually pretty cool to see since I didn't use that method to view the eclipse.

Welcome to Steemit @carrieallen!

Thanks so much! I was totally waiting to do my first post... and then I just did it. ;-)

Just jump in, I love it!

Congratulations @carrieallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good efforts not bad

Congratulations @carrieallen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82