Solar Oven Cooking and Bone Broth SoupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #solar7 years ago

DSCN2804.JPG

I love being able to take a whole, organic chicken and get 4-5 meals out of it. I always start by baking it in either my solar oven, or for the other 9 months out of the year, on top of my wood stove. The photo below is from last fall cooking on the wood stove, after the chicken was done and I removed the lid. Along side it I was frying some home grown yellow and purple potatoes.

DSCN1659.JPG

After serving it like that the first night, I then remove the meat as needed for making other dinners for the next two or three nights such as Chicken Fettuccine, Chicken Fried Rice, Chicken Pot Pie, and more. Once I have used up most of the meat, I then take the bones, add some water and spices and let it cook in the solar oven (or on the wood stove), for a full day or so to draw out every last bit of minerals from the bones.

The next day, I remove all the bones and I am left with a wonderful, gut friendly chicken bone broth. I had a lot more meat left on it this time than usual as you can see in the photo above, but that is ok, it makes a good meat hearty soup that way. Sometimes I may turn the broth into a gravy or use as a base for enchilada sauce or something else, but most frequently, I turn it into soup and this is when I like to use my dehydrated (home or store bought) and freeze dried foods. One of my favorite things is Honeyville's dehydrated carrots. I love to just snack on them as is. Once I open a can, I seal them into mason jars to prevent them from going stale.

DSCN2803.JPG

I also really like Honeyville's diced potatoes and organic (Non-GMO) corn. Then there is my home grown mixed greens blend that goes into nearly every meal I make. It includes kale, grape leaves, strawberry leaves, beet greens, stinging nettle, borage, plantain, carrot tops, radicchio, dandelion leaves, and I am sure a couple of other things I am forgetting. It is a great way to add more minerals and other wonderful nutrients we need. This time of year is when I am drying and storing the plentiful greens into vacuum sealed jars to get me through the year. I actually still have a few jars left from last year and several started from this year!

DSCN2801.JPG

Other things I add are garden grown sage and golden oregano, dehydrated jalapeños, onion, garlic, tomatoes, red pepper flakes, and Himalayan or Redmond Real Salt (not that junk white salt!).

I then place the soup in the solar oven and let it cook all day.

DSCN2807.JPG

The dogs are liking the smells coming from the oven

DSCN2809.JPG

It is so nice to be able to just toss it in there and forget about it the rest of the day while doing my gardening, washing and hanging clothes, and my many other chores. Then at the end of the day when we are done with our work, we have a nice pot of healthy soup waiting for us, cooked by the power of the sun.

DSCN2811.JPG

Thank you all for your time and hope you have a lovely weekend!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I enjoy bone broth as well! I often use it as the base for tomato bisque or minestrone soup, yum!

Great post as always :)

This is really cool! Thanks for posting. I'm a huge bone broth fan, this post made me thirsty for some, so I'm going to warm up a cup now!


I love being able to take a whole, organic chicken and get 4-5 meals out of it. I always start by baking it in either my solar oven,
.
Is THAT what I've been doing wrong?
I bought these at WalMart
.

.
they don't require any refrigeration. Damn tough to chew though.
Doesn't taste very good either...and STINKS when I put it in the microwave.
I SHOULD be using a Solar Oven...
Right?
Thanks you for setting me straight

O my, I laughed out loud!!!

That chicken looked great, reminds me its past lunch time...

Smell-a-vision, we need it now (taste a vision is not a bad idea also) Have Mr Rain make it happen (we all know he is super talented and creative and can do everything!) Resteemit for sharing how to work with the sun!

oh man that solar over looks perfect. i really love your posts, i'm excited to make my own solar oven in the future, that last bowl looks so tasty! love stews and hearty soups like that. great post. upvoted.

Woow that seems really tasty and healthy meals. I like the way they are so colorful and I cannot even think how nutricious they are. Solar for the win :D

I really love cooking with the solar, so easy and no fear of burning!

Cooking with the sun is great. I experimented myself with a satellite dish as sun cooker. Was really fun.
How long does it take to cook?

It really just depends on what it is and how sunny it is out, but anywhere from 2 to 8 hours. If you are just warming up something, it may take 15 mins to an hour.

Congratulations @raincountry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That all looks really tasty! And you don't even have to deal with heat in the kitchen with that solar cooker - great! If you ever do any posts about making your dried mixed greens, be sure to use the #foraging tag, so I can find it and curate it for the @foraging-trail! It's such a great way to make use of the wild plants and 'weeds' growing all around us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54