You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cheap Solar Chargers That Don't Suck

in #solar7 years ago

Awesome, this is a really great post. I'm a sucker for independent power!

So cool to see you're experimenting with on the road charging of that bike you made. How well does it work?

Sort:  

That's not my bike. My new ebike isn't fully built. My old ebike was possible to charge from my folding 30 watt array, it just took all day and defeated the purpose of bringing the bike out into nature since it spent more time charging than being ridden.

You need A LOT of solar to charge anything more demanding than a smartphone. At that point it becomes silly and burdensomely expensive. I would sooner just recharge an ebike from the car alternator.

Oh right, thanks. Of course, motors use a lot of energy. Maybe if you were camping somewhere and it was idle for a day it might be useful, but yes I take your point.

Good luck finishing the new bike! 👋 😆 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54