Time to put those panels up

in #solar6 years ago

image.png
Image Credit freeimages.com

After 5 months of waiting finally work is starting for the solar panels to go on my roof and I can join the many that have already went down this path. It is taking extra long as it is the end of the Feed in Traffic contracts and start of the Net metering. The difference is FIT will pay the panel owner at a contract rate (as taxable income) and with Net metering I will get credit if I generate more than I use for any month to be used in future months.

I have to say the honor of the highest electricity price in North America is a big part of reasoning to make this investment.

image.png

A 7KW system from 25 300W panels.

The estimate is I would break even in 12 - 13 years, at the mid point of the 25 years life of the panels. I used the price projection numbers from a Sun news article and the generation estimate number from the installer and did my own spreadsheet to work out the break even point. Now personally I think with the carbon tax and very likely interest rate hike the electricity rate is going to go up even faster than projected which means I would break even earlier.

Thanks for stopping by, I will have update post when the juice starts to flow.

Please see my article on [Ontario electricity rate here] (https://steemit.com/politics/@oldman28/who-paid-highest-electricity-rate-in-north-american-in-2016)

Sort:  

Each year its almost a given the electric rate will increase . Great investment You will have to figure the rate it goes up per year . My panels will have a payoff in less than 5 years although i dont use as much as a average house here.

Amazing...

@oldman28

Vote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99