From Chicago to San JuansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #solar6 years ago

First blog here. I'm trying Steemit out and I think it's a pretty awesome place to post :-)

So I decided to move to San Juan, Puerto Rico from Chicago about four months after Hurricane Maria. I moved to the mainland US in the summer of 1998 at just 13 years old. Lived in Orlando for a decade including my High School graduation. In 2009 I moved to Chicago in search of better opportunities. I graduated from a 4-year university and began my career in banking and insurance.

I decided to move back to Puerto Rico this past February after being away for almost twenty years. After "The Storm" I felt the need to return and assist in the reconstruction in any way I could.

Moving back has been fun, exciting and a bit scary. The fun part is that I get to ride my bike without worrying about the weather and I get to eat tasty food all the time. I am an adventurous person and love to go to the beach, Old San Juan and to the mountains.

The Sun is Puerto Rico's biggest asset. After the hurricane, I've grown interested in solar energy and how it could help the island. I've gone to a few local meetings in regards to renewable energy and the response has been positive. I've also attended the "altE Solar Conference" to learn the basics of solar energy and some products on the market.

Puerto Rico stands as an ideal place to rethink renewable energy and many people have already realized it. Therefore, I'm here to help, learn and use my knowledge to help in any way I can.

I also like to take pictures too

IMG_0629.JPG IMG_3922.JPGIMG_1729.JPGIMG_1489.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @mapnerdo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to Steemit and congrats on the move. Maybe I will see you next time I'm there.

Hi @mapnedro, how rampant is the use of solar power in Puerto Rico?

Hi there. I wish SteemIt had some sort of notifications. It is slowly growing but the issue here is that people are not able to afford a $20,000 off-grid battery system. There are some banks offering to finance (I am unclear about interest rates and terms). The main two bottlenecks are lack money and lack of education. People seem to get that after Hurricane Maria we need solar but I've spoken to many others that don't believe that solar can spread fast enough. That's about to change within the next 5 to 7 years because I just read a really good blog @sean-king who explains the power of exponentials. Things will change but one house at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16