You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Charging My Devices with a Spare Solar Panel

in #solar6 years ago

I love the fact that you have utilized old equipment for this project.
You can buy solar charging power banks that can be used use to run mobile devices but reuse of existing equipment has that little extra measure of environmentally responsibility.

Sort:  

Definitely, idle hardware really itches at my OCD so I wanna do what I can. Along with this panel there were a few others but they weren't rated at the same voltage so I will have to look into how I can get them to become uniform and provide me with reliable power.

If your other solar panels are 12V then you might be able to use a USB car-charger.
You should check the maximum voltage the cell provides because Photo Voltaic cell voltages can vary quite a lot from the nominal voltage.
If the cell maximum voltage is above 15V then I would suggest using a solar charging regulator between the PV cell and any car equipment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36