Solar, on my roof

in #solar7 years ago

Well it's been about a year, since I installed 1600 watts of solr panels, on my roof. I must say that it was well worth the investment. The panels cost around 2,000$. The charge controller was about 500$, and the batteries are about 100$ each. The inverter was about 500$. I already had the wireing, so I lucked out there!

Currently, I have 1,000 watts, running to my off grid setup. The remaining 600 watts, powers two grid tie inverters. They put energy back into my electrical service, that I pay for. They supplement our everyday consumption. My bill has dropped dramatically.

I also use solar to run mynham radios. (I'll save that story for another post). IMG_0072.JPG

Sort:  

Nice! We are looking at doing a system this year down in the field instead of on the roof. We have dormers that would cast shadows half the time if in the roof. I also figured that if built right the mounting system could double over as a covered parking place for the tractor.

My neighbor spends the whole day putting up a ladder and whisking snow off the panels all to power 2 lights. HUH.

Tell us how many kWh produced in one year !

Have you calculated out how long it will take to get a return on investment?

this is awesome your so lucky!

Very cool dumb question but habe you performed a structural analysis. I've seen roofs collapse due to people adding this to their roof with no consideration to the weight they were adding.

Also, any idea what the payback is for these solar panels?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77