Solar Eclipse Soon

in #solar7 years ago (edited)

A solar eclipse is a truly amazing thing to happen and if anyone here gets a chance to see it THEN GO AND DO IT. I  will be driving from my home in south Texas up to the Kansas City area to go and see this fantastic celestial event. The whole drive will take about 12 hours, but the result will definitely be worth it. I will definitely be taking photos and documenting my experience in the coming weeks.  

Sort:  

Do you use welding lenses to view the event, and if so, would you know the best shade number to use? I've also seen folks using a piece of paper with a small hole in it to view the sun...don't know about trying that paper trick myself tho.

That's something that I have been researching too, but I did come across this information posted by NASA at (https://eclipse2017.nasa.gov/safety ) and its pretty helpful. From what I gather it is best to use something that is compliant with the ISO 12312-2 safety standard.

I hope to see all your pictures, and more importantly, all of your stories and excitement of the event.

I was in New Caledonia on my honeymoon when there was a solar eclipse. It was really funny because there were all these guys dressed up on the beach with their lenses to take photos of the eclipse but all they were looking at was the topless women on the beach

Sounds like a really fun time, but I doubt my trip to Kansas will have quite as many topless women. haha

Congratulations @adewg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44