Is Sola a competitor to Steemit? See inside for my thoughts!

in #sola7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I found some information about an upcoming ICO for Sola, which says this about itself: (emphasis mine)

Sola is the next generation decentralized social platform that incentivizes and benefits all involved parties — users, third-party developers and the core team. The name Sola is an acronym for “social layer.”

Screenshot 2017-11-26 14.39.46.png

Does that sound something like Steem? It should -- they reference Steemit as a competitor in their whitepaper. I've downloaded their app and I've been tinkering with their system a bit over the past few days to assess. Details on exactly how they'll accomplish their revenue sharing ideas are scant so far, but I'll summarize my first impressions here.

It's like Twitter and Tinder had a one-night stand.

From what I can tell, Sola is the new name of a social media platform called Plag (or Plague? their materials seem to use both names) that's been operating as a mobile app for some time. It's like Tinder and Twitter had a baby.

Twitterishness:

The content is distilled down into tiny mobile-screen-sized "cards" which are fed to the user one-by-one. Here's the first random card I saw when I logged into the web app:


Screenshot 2017-11-26 14.46.47.png

That sort of thing is standard. You get a lot of links to other stuff, a lot of photos, a lot of stupid copy-pasta memes, and a lot of one-line ideabites. Here's something I posted that's gotten a bit of attention. It's a very long way from the kind of format that usually attracts me. I wouldn't ever waste my time with something like this if I didn't have some kind of profit motive.

Tinderishness:

You see exactly one card at a time; the exact cards you see are determined by a centrally-administered secret-sauce artificial intelligence algorithm. If you like the card, you swipe up; if you don't, you swipe down. Either way, you move on to the next card. If you swiped up, you "spend" a couple AP (action points) and the author of the content you liked gets awarded some of the SOL cryptocurrency. Your AP points replenish daily, I think -- and you can also get them by referring users (for example, click this link to sign up and I'll supposedly get a referral bonus of AP).

How does the economic model work?

It seems that the long-term supply of SOL is fixed, and the SOL tokens are just shuffled around between users to reward content creators. I think that the platform has a pot full of SOL, and those are given out to different users -- on the surface, this will feel a tiny bit Steem-ish. However, in Steem, the rewards pot is administered in a totally trustless and decentralized manner - but I've seen no evidence that Sola will work in the same way. Here's the economic infographic from their whitepaper:

Screenshot 2017-11-26 14.37.46.png

As far as I can tell, the crux of it is advertising revenue. It seems like people buy ads, and then somehow that ad revenue is used to purchase SOL tokens on the open market. Then those SOL tokens are split between node operators, content creators, and founders. Exactly how this split and these buybacks and the advertising market will be administered is not at all clear to me -- and I suspect all of it will be centralized. Maybe auditable, but I think if the founders actually had some secret sauce way of decentralizing that they'd have made more of it in the whitepaper.

So will Sola be decentralized?

I suspect not, though of course I'll be happy to be proved wrong here. I suppose you could call their endorsement system "decentralized," but only in the sense that Reddit's voting system is decentralized: sure, the voters are decentralized, but the ranking algorithms and such are not. But who knows... time will tell.

Is there an ICO?

Yeah, it starts really soon -- you can find details on their website. I'm not endorsing it, because I don't endorse (or not endorse) ICOs. Invest at your own risk, and only if it's legal for you to do so in your legal environment.

I want to sign up! How?

Use my referral link! It's here:
https://sola.foundation/r/ODMxM2Y

Sort:  

Awesome another one :)

I really think these social media sites are going to be huge in the future.

I signed up, hope you see my ref :)

It does seem the system is going to be decentralized, with users hosting nodes.

Sola-Decentralized-Social-Media-Platform.jpg

Decentralized hosting doesn't mean that the economic model is decentralized, though. Not that that's necessarily the end of the world, I suppose.

When you say economic model decentralized.. how do you mean?

I mean the control of the money. When someone buys an ad on Sola, how is that money funnelled to content creators? Does it go to a smart contract that automatically splits it between the owners, creators, and operators of the platform? Or does it go to some centralized repository and then get split between everyone?

To be truly decentralized, there can't be any opportunities for a person to steal the funds before they're distributed. If the funds aren't distributed by smart contract, then there almost has to be a middle-man - and that's a huge security problem.

I used Plauge for a while, and yeah it sounds interesting!
Thank you for sharing. I just signed up with your referral link :)

Lol my shitpost was the first card you saw

Btw your ref link goes to the main page.. it's a bit tricky to find out how to sign up, i have a feeling your conversion rate will be low.

This link may convert better :)

https://sola.foundation/r/ODMxM2Y

Ok, I'll swap it over. Thanks!

This is such a ripe field for competition.

Thanks for endorsing my cards @biophil :)

Hey no worries! thanks for the referral bonus. :)

A lot of competitions are coming up against Steemit. Although yes, some are total scammy, but some are very good also. Steemit better rank up!!

You forgot one important swipe. You also can swipe to the right. Cards can have up to 10 ' folds'. That makes the reading much more interesting, than just 1 simple and plain image+link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50