New career start

in #software6 years ago

For the last 1 month, I traveled Europe for the first time in my life. That was one of best decision I've made ever this year.

And I started a new career as a backend software(server side) engineer recently. It's a global American game publishing service company. Very big and there are many offices over the world, in every continent.
My team is responsible for building a common service framework for game service and publishing and we usually support Asian market.

Before I travel Europe, I worked for a American startup for 1 year and 8 months. When I joined the startup, company was very tiny and company members were less than 10 people. Now it's growing and more than 30 people are working. It was really cool and unforgettable(in various meaning) experience for my career as a software engineer.

Previously, I worked for a Korean manufacturing company which makes networked video surveillance devices such as CCTV and DVR. Usually software development environment is based on embedded Linux platform. (There are so many embedded platform based companies in Korea.)

I'm not going to talk about my company for both the previous startup and current company itself.
Instead, I would like to talk about various tech stacks and cultural differences between companies and teams I have experienced.

AND IT WOULD BE VERY TECHY AND NERDY.....

There are so many differences of software development process and cultures between a small startup and a big company.
I might talk about current company's software development environment and open source project that our team is working on! (Open source project is very good topic to talk about in a public place even though it's company's IP)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47