Help with linuxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #software7 years ago

well i am ready to get set up and learning Linux and i am unsure what one to use.

here is my hardware
amd fx 6300
12 gb ram
120 kingston ssd
amd 6570

thanks all the help the better.

Sort:  

One option would be simply start out by booting a Linux Live DVD, such as the Ubuntu installation DVD. That way you can try Ubuntu without installing anything onto your computer. The downside is that everything you do on Ubuntu will be gone when you power down the computer. The upside is that you can verify that Ubuntu indeed works, especially that Ubuntu recognizes your graphics card.

Another option would be to purchase a Raspberry Pi. This is a great way of getting to know a little bit about linux, although it's not necessarily quite the same as running say Ubuntu on your desktop computer.

I have been using Linux Mint current to 17.3 and it works very well for me, unless I screw it up as I did recently.

Are you planning to run this under windows? Or by itself, standalone?

Just finished a post you may find interesting...

@hermitthewriter/2017-07-29-thought-for-the-day-complexity

Let me know what you want to learn and I am sure I can point you in the right direction

i still jave windows on my ssd and gonna run linux on anotherbhdd till i get to know better

I recommend Ubuntu if you are completely new to Linux. In fact, I still prefer Ubuntu and have been using Linux for years. For an even better experience, check out Elementary OS. It's built on Ubuntu (which itself it built on Debian), but has one of the best UIs I've seen.

i have used it, not much and still a very big newb on setting up a lot of the programs but i have no idea what the best distros are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70