Few not so known windows tools / utilities which will make your life easier for free

in #software7 years ago

As my very first post I decided to go with something neutral, just to test things out.
Anyway, I believe you will find it useful... More to come in future.

All of these tools I use on daily bases, they are free, light weight, without unnecessary bloat or other headaches.

1) PureText

Are you also annoyed every time when you copy - paste text and it holds its formatting, underlying color and so on? It drove me crazy until I found PureText.
Small exe which starts with Windows will simply allow you to paste pure text to wherever you need.
Just assign shortcut to it and you are good to go. My one is CTRL+G.

2) DesktopOK

I am often working on multiple screens / monitors / projectors and resolution change always messes up the layout of icons on my desktop. I kind of like to have them organised in groups and "islands" across the workspace.
To prevent "bomb hitting my desktop" and messing up my nice and tidy groups, another small utility can be installed.
It also starts with windows and let you customize it in the way that it saves latest state before shout down and loads it on startup. Also many other custom settings are available.

3) WinCDEmu

Long gone are the days of shiny plastic CD / DVD disks. However lot of software seems to be distributed in form of ISO files which are in essence images of the given disk.
To be able to mount these disks without need to burn them to physical media, I use this cool small utility which acts as virtual CD / DVD drive. It integrates to your file explorer and lets you mount the file through right click. How cool and easy? Also works with multiple file formats and have some extra features for you to explore.

4) FastStone Image Viewer 

Image viewer / light editor which will allow you to do so much in simple way that you will never want to use anything else. It will help you to do basic editing, add the text / content to images, edit EXIF info, batch process the image files and so much more. I cannot describe how much I like this software.
FastStone has more software for working with pictures, make sure to check it out. Some of it is payed though.

5) EaseUS Data Backup & Recovery

Lets be honest, we all lost some data and regret that we did not have a backup. Well this tool should help you with that. Whether you want to backup simple files or whole disks, if you want to backup locally or to the cloud, EaseUS have you covered. It can backup whole system partition and through bootable USB restore it in case of crash. It can clone drives, it can do so much more for you. Just setup schedules and you are good forever.
So no more excuses for lost data or crashed windows :-)


OK, that is all for today. I hope you will find at least some of these helpful and lets see what I will come up with next time. My interests range from PCs across traveling to cooking, so there are possibilities for good articles...
Please let me know what you like and what you would like to see / improve on my posts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mitalb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @mitalb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44