2017-07-29 Thought For The Day – Complexity

in #software7 years ago

factory-1769429_1920.jpg

Complexity is much like a two-edged sword - it cuts both ways.

On the one hand if we did not have more and more Complexity in Evolution, we might remain all single-celled creatures with none of the abilities we have today - as Humans.

On the other hand, Complexity evolves in many of our systems, unchecked and often out of control (governance, software, our legal systems, and our various global markets).

For example, I migrated my HP Hardware from Windows to Linux some five or six years ago to get away from the Complexity. To get away from the endless issues I had to deal with to insure my computer platform Continued to be available whenever I needed it.

However, now the flavor of Linux I am using has 199,973 files and directories when last I updated it. On top of that there is an additional 76,685 more programs and functions I could easily download, install, and run - adding even more to the Complexity inside my computer system.

When it is working which is usually most almost all of the time, it is great. A Very powerful tool that lets me do all sorts of things.

Perhaps this complexity would be better controlled if each function I needed was just like my electric drill - self-contained, turn it on, and drill holes - or modify a graphic, or connect to the Internet, or calculate set of numbers and so on.

But then, I suppose I would want some sort of AI intelligence to keep track of all these individual tools, to connect me to one, and then another and another, and then remove them all when I am finished.

But, then we are back where we started from - even more Complexity.

Perhaps W. Brian Arthur as he writes in Scientific American May 1993 has a solution.
“...even when a system gets lumbered down with complications, there is hope. Sooner or later a new symplifying conception is discovered that cuts at the root of the idea behind the old system, and replaces it.”

Sort:  

Congratulations @hermitthewriter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Complexity is great, it allows for more constructs :) All that complexity in detail can only be grasped per segment of particulars/specifics, and then we universalize/generalize understanding to understand the greater complexity at larger orders. Abstraction is a wonderful gift :) . Go consciousness! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17