Cheese and Rosemary Soda BreadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #soda-bread7 years ago

I made this bread for the first time last week and it's yummy - absolutely moorish! It's so easy to make. Enjoy it warm with lots of butter.

Ingredients:
250 g plain flour
250 g wholemeal flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper (adjust to taste)
200 g grated strong cheese
4 tbsp chopped rosemary
300 ml buttermilk
2-4 tbsp milk1-3.jpg

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C.
  2. Combine flour, bicarbonate of soda, and salt together.
  3. Add the grated cheese, chopped rosemary and pepper and combine until well mixed.
  4. Add buttermilk and mix together by hand or by machine with a dough hook.
  5. Add enough milk until the texture is smoothly combined. Do not over knead.
  6. Tip the dough onto a floured surface and roll into an oval shape.
  7. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 35-45 minutes until nicely browned. Test by tapping the bottom - if it sounds hollow, it is done.
  8. Allow to cool before slicing and eating.
Sort:  

never heard of that combo before, but i do love some rosemary, bet it tastes good

I hadn't either, and like you, as I love rosemary, I made it twice. Once for my sister-in-law's party and the 2nd time for our Church coffee morning. They were both great successes and people have asked me for the recipe.

Try it - it's easy to make. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Mmmmmmmm soda bread is yummy, and I too sometimes put rosemary into my bread. I agree, totally delicious and really easy to make! Good recipe @sheilaforde :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44