You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Social Birds & the Bees: The socialization of gender, a toy store ethnography

A difficult subject to discuss these days as you can get attacked very easily from any direction! Maybe controversially I do think this is being taught far too early to kids causing them to question their existence in their body. While I am not saying binary gender is not a thing, I can't help but think young kids are very influential and are still discovering themselves; developing if you like and with all this in the media I adds another think to question and try. It's like the recent pride events in the UK now I support the gay community doing this but I went to one with my mother and her gay friend. The majority of the people there were school kids in my opinion jumping on the band wagon as it's the cool thing. Which to be kind of dampens the message as it's now a trendy think to say "i went to a pride event". I discussed this at the time and do think.... any that's another tangent. So yes I don't think this should be taught / prompted to young kids in school. Don't get me wrong it should not be blocked out for kids; parents have a responsibility to explain these things and teach equality and acceptance of all. But to teach it in primary schools and young kids is confusing for them I think, maybe i'm wrong 💯🐒

Sort:  

If you aren't offending people then you are doing something wrong. ;) LOL Just kidding, sort of heh.

I don't think anyone should be taught what it means to be any gender. People should learn for themselves through interacting with themselves and their environments and others. I don't see anything wrong with children going to Pride events, but going as a trendy thing to do seems like normalization - which really is fine as well. Its not really sending the right message, but its impossible to get everyone under one umbrella. I wholly agree that parents have a responsibility to explain questions the children have. Teaching about different genders and sexes is fine, but I'm not sure of the age of when its acceptable either.

Indeed well said! And I don't have a problem with the events just think would be better if there was an equality movement rather than a gay, feminist, black, white, Tuesdays, Mondays. It kind of segregates by expressing to separate movements the voice would be bigger if they all came together I think 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41