You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Social Birds & the Bees: The socialization of gender, a toy store ethnography

in #sociology5 years ago

The disclaimer: I am totally....
White, Male, Privileged, Western, Educated, Industrialised, Rich, Democratic....

BUT

I definitely DO NOT relate to the usual stereotype of masculinity. I find it boring. Actually, I think the fetishisation of blokes with ripped muscles and 6-pack abs that the macho alpha-males glorify speaks to a kind of closet homoeroticism IMHO.

I think proto-Taoist Yīnyáng Theory provides us with a marvellous model for us to get over this binary-dualism.

Also, another fun little fact: apparently in pre-Victorian England it was traditional to dress newborn boys in pink and girls in blue...!!!!! Go figure!

Sort:  

I think the fetishisation of blokes with ripped muscles and 6-pack abs that the macho alpha-males glorify speaks to a kind of closet homoeroticism IMHO.

A lot of arguments could be made in support of this, haha. It definitely creates a horrendously false idea of what masculinity is.

The yinyang theory definitely would help lend to getting beyond the binary argument.

I did know that tidbit - so interesting! Things like that flip pretty often throughout history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41