You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Misguided Myopia or Peak Hypocrisy? Campus Antifascist Network

in #society7 years ago

I'd venture to say that part of what we are seeing is the obvious result of allowing our children to attend schools that have an agenda of control and the production of "good citizens" and "corporate employees".

By neglecting to teach things such as rights, lawful process, real history, speech (especially discussion, negotiation, and debate), active reading, and logic... and instead focusing on authoritarianism and nothing that 90% of children will ever have use of in their lives, our children are being raised to become useful idiots.

By allowing our youth to be indoctrinated by authoritarians we will eventually end up like the Weimar Republic. For some reason I get the feeling that we are almost there... and articles like this make me even more certain.

I don't watch corporate media and I've only recently heard the term "antifa"... and just doing a little research made me sigh... fascists against antifascists. Maybe they should re-brand themselves the fantifas.

When I was much younger I played a lot of Quake... and my handle was "Religion" as I then thought that religion killed more people than just about anyone throughout the ages.

If I knew what I know now, my handle would have been Government... and today many people I know (maybe most) seem to have a religious belief in the goodness of governments. You would also have heard a lot of "Dammit Government!" as you walked around the building when a good game was going... which probably would have caused the games to stop quickly.

Oh, and I wouldn't be holding my breath either. The hard part is always feeling like one is wasting ones breath when using logic to try and reach people that refuse to think. In a world where truth is relative logic has very little weight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65