You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A somewhat Utopian overview of Universal Basic Income ( UBI )

in #society7 years ago

I would be worried if you never agreed with me, or if you agreed too often. I write for people to think, not consume so I present conflicted views often. Sometimes they are conflicts I had, sometimes I have to import them. Sometimes (unfortunately) they are unintended as they are conflicts I still have. I am not above being wrong...as rare as it is.

Yes, I take the same view but, I think the paying for it is easier than expected. Some will come through administration streamlining which is much higher than people think, some will come through consumption, some through new business opportunities (in time), some through personal investment by the higher ends, and some through a lowering of future retirement needs as people invest more into their future needs (hopefully). of course, short/mid range will be expensive but I think long-term it will be somewhat cheaper perhaps or not more expensive.

Sort:  

Fair enough. Hard to judge because I'm unsure about costs of living in etc in Finland but I suspect that I'd like the UBI to be more than yourself. I would like to be able to see people receive more than the bare minimum required for basic survival, a minimum living wage if you like. Happy to do away with all other benifits (excepting those for the severely disabled) to help contribute to the cost but I realise my idea of UBI would require considerably more funding than that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51