Phi Zappa Krappa

in #society7 years ago

Those of us that remember the 1960's (not many on Steemit, I'm guessing) may remember Frank Zappa and his Mothers of Invention, a rock group that was anything but ordinary. One of the things I liked best about Frank & The Mothers was not only were they an exceptionally talented group of musicians, but some of the leading social critics of our generation. What I found most extraordinary was that Zappa was so clever at making fun of the Hippies, that they were almost completely unaware he was doing so.

As time went on, the Hippie movement died (more or less) and Frank went on to start producing some excellent jazz albums and later he began composing Classical music, usually employing instruments that were anything but classical. Until his death, from prostate cancer in his 50's he toured Europe giving concerts. His penchant for social criticism didn't end with the demise of the Mothers of Invention... he continued being an outspoken critic of politicians and politics until his death.

His criticism wasn't limited to politics by any means. Zappa was outspoken in his criticism of the music industry, big business and anyone else with whom he disagreed... He despised dishonesty and corruption, the egos involved in the entertainment industry, just about anything he considered dishonest.

This video contains clips edited from interviews, appearances, etc.. I apologize for the poor quality of the audio- it's still worth listening to.

This is a videotaped interview Frank did just before his death in 1993... his sense of humor and humility shine through, even though you can tell he is very ill. He died not long after.

badge.pngicross.jpg V V.jpg

Sort:  

I have watched lots of Frank Zappa interviews and it's hard to find any that he wasn't brilliant!

Thanks for sharing @richq11

There's a reason... he was brilliant!

one of the best and most insightful commentators on contemporary life in general and the body politic. my first mothers record was live at filmore east which included the incomparable flo and eddie (mark volman and howard kaylan of the turtles fame), full of profanity, sexuality and assorted insanity - perfect for a teenaged boy in southern california in the 70's ;)

I remember my brother had at least one album of his, Sheik Yerbouti I think it was.

That's a great one... They were all great, but that one particularly. My favorite was We're only in it For The Money!

Zappa was without doubt my biggest guitar hero ever. The mothers were such an awe inspiring band, especially when they did their live improvisations. And it's worth remembering he was so good he was the mentor to the young Steve Vai.

To this day, Sheikh Yerbouti is my all time favourite album. It's absolutely classic, and I cannot help but laugh every time I hear Bobby Brown Goes Down or I Have Been In You. And Jewish Princess is just fucking superb.

A sad day when he died, and me and a few of the lads went to our local bikers pub and sank many an ale for Frank.

I had the Phi Zappa Krappa poster displayed proudly on my kitchen wall... When the downstairs apt burned, the fireman offered me $25 for it- they wanted it for the firehouse!

Frank Zappa and the Mothers
Had the best place in town
Till some stupid with a flare gun
Burned the place to the ground.

I remember the fifties barely.
I might have to listen to some Zappa
I don't listen to music much
most of it is garbage.

nice post ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

Anyone who remembers Frank and the Mothers is a good guy in my book, he was such an inspiration to me as I was growing up!
He was awesome, his son Dweezil, toured over here in UK last year again, but tickets were not available when I tried to get them. :(
Saw Zappa doing his tour in 1981 in Houston, awesome live performance!
First heard him on an underground radio station in Houston playing Pojama People and was hooked - for life!

I'm mostly saddened that I'm too young to know his work or what he stood for. But just from those 2 links he comes across as (to himself) little more than a humble, truth speaking, lover of music composition and a man of unquestionable integrity.....even if those who love his life and works see him as so much more. And I am far from saying anything to the contrary. But to be so respected, loved and highly thought of and to still see yourself as (potentially) just a man makes who he seems to have been infinitely more.

Again I think it would have been incredible to have been around when he was at his peak.

What a great world we would have if more people in the world had some of his qualities.

Great article Rich, its certainly made me want to know more about his music and life.

Frank Zappa was brilliant :)

Congratulations

Great interview and my time was well spent here reading your post. Thanks.

Thank you... I like what he said about nuclear war... "It's bad for business"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64