You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Libertarian Political Compass

in #society7 years ago

Discipline is something we develop for ourselves, not something to do to other people. Children are naturally curious and interested in learning, growing, and becoming adults already. They don't need motivation to do that. There's no reason that that should turn out the way that their parents want them to. Obedience isn't a virtue and children are not property. They're self-owning individuals like you and me. They can choose their own paths in life and it's not our place to force them down other paths against their will.

Sort:  

Agreed. I agree with those things. I am not talking against those things. The story is a longer story than that. Many people do not let children ask enough questions. People should let kids be kids more. We should let kids have more freedoms. We should let kids explore more. My mother taught me at home. The way my mother helped me changed as I got older. The way my mom helped my siblings were different at times. Different kids are different. We do better when we cultivate strategies towards helping the youth. We learn at different speeds and in different ways. Children are better off when they are more curious and when they are encouraged to be more curious and to work on their projects at their own pace and everything. I agree with all of that. What I said before is not about this. It goes way beyond that. There are so many opportunities for children. When I was ten years old, we had a camcorder and we were making movies and videos. I was also building things with wood. I would take apart electronics like my older brother. Life is full of adventures and that is great. And by the way, parents can also reward kids. You can tell them good job. You can take them out for pizza or buy them gifts. I agree with that too. I will probably write books about these things. I would emphasize on rewards. I would focus more on that and things like that first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59