You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How We Give Away Our Personal Information and Blend Social Circles

in #society7 years ago (edited)

There ARE solutions to this using psychological "tricks" like Nudges (The article goes in depth on not just what nudges are, but also why they are certainly NOT a miracle solution) to make pople think twice before hitting "publish".
One idea, that I just thought up, would be having an automatic "cancel" period where the user who has posted something at in between 11 PM and 5 AM gets a notice the post won't go up till 7 AM, if they confirm it at that time, and giving them an option to bypass it (maybe putting a subtle picture of your boss and colleagues in the background to remind you just who can see it).

Of course, the best strategy would be for people to do exactly what you are suggesting. Wisen up on what to post and to whom, and which details of our lives to keep off the Internet.

Personally, I'd never post something "just" for my friends online, because I know the internet and also have the healthy belief that my computer's more likely to be infected with a RAT program (enabling people to spy on all I do and/or copy any files and distribute them everywhere) than not.

Sort:  

Thanks for bringing up the concept of Nudges, I didn't hear about it earlier.

Automatic cancel would solve the problem, but I think you forgot why people publish things on the internet - I suspect it's mainly for the instant domapine rush we get from expressing ourselves, especially in some attention-grabbing situations, so for these people it would make no sense to put out their favorite drug for later.

This post was motivated mainly by the failed attempts to get the information from my peers about why they post everything they do on social media, especially some extremely dumb things like drawing a dick on the desk. They don't know why.

I think it's that they were doing it for so long that they don't know how we can't do it. It became the part of their identity.

We can't assume that everyone is willing to think about what they are publishing before doing it. It's good for you that you do.

Hmmm... That's a VERY interesting notion.

I think I've read about something similar, about how doing something all our lives just makes it part of us, so much that we don't realize others would find it strange.

I'm fascinated with psychology, mainly because in my youth I had a lot of difficulties understanding how others behaved, and how to behave in turn.

I'll make more posts connected to the human psychology. I'm just starting :)
I also had some difficulties with other people, I'm extremely introvert and realizing the nastiness of the human psyche was a turning point in my life. There's a lot more concepts to explore.

True. My turning point was realizing how little I knew about how I made decisions, and how little others knew about why they made THEIR decisions XS.

Otherwise I spend all my time as a kid with my nose in a book. (Still do. Goodreads counts 14 books just from the start of 2017 :) )

I'll be looking forward to your posts !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46