You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Time-Outs to Caging Adults

in #society6 years ago

I never considered this.

I do think there are more nuances to this topic, but in general, I think this goes into the right direction and that does leave a sour taste in my mouth.

When it comes to prisons, being send there is supposed to serve re socialization. I think that German prisons do a somewhat decendish job regarding this. American prisons don't as far as I know.

What I am thinking about is time spend in school right now. "Detention" in the way it has been depicted in american media never existed here for me, but we had something similar for a while back when I was in middle school. The concept never really got taken seriously by most people my age back then, though.

The more I think about this the more factors I think of that become important. Hm.

Sort:  

Yeah, detention isn't taken seriously, so people can just do what they were doing. People are willing to pay a price when they want to do things they shouldn't.

In many cases, yes. And sometimes, they are not but do it anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44