You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The social stack

in #society5 years ago

The real question is: "is there hope?" If you are born an ant, can you raise through the stack to become a puppet ? If you are born a puppet, can you become a master ? If you are an optimist, you believe there is hope. I am an optimist, I believe there is a certain degree of "social mobility".

I don't think society can be changed, I am of the opinion that it's a "Nash equilibrium" in Game theory parlance.

Sort:  

I believe there is hope which is the very reason why I'm writing.

The current social stuck already grants social mobility. Here I have a showcase.

I believe that society can be changed. It has often been changed over the time and there several examples of currently existing and fully functional societies which are very different from the "western" one. Check the Mosuo matriarchy.

I see why you think that change can't happen: our social stack core changed little over the last dozens of centuries (with many important improvements though) but now there are new tools: crypto, robotics and AI which have the potential for a consistent change as @sorin.cristescu covertly mentions in his post.

It's all in our hands. We can drive a change. Will it be good? Hard to tell. Society changes follow the "butterfly effect": a change can happen but it's hard to tell its impact and the counter reaction that will take place.

However, considering how enslaving is the current predominant social stack I see no other option. Doing nothing is a form of collusion.

There are IMO only two types of society which are working adequately at scale: the Western one and the Chinese one. Others may exist but they are unproven at such scales and for such long periods.

Funny you should mention matriarchy. Western society is quite rapidly evolving toward a matriarchy I think. Not sure it's all good but nobody can stop this evolution.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree on several levels. The current western social stack has evolved till here in this way because of historical reasons and some barbaric treats of human nature. In facts, it is very efficient but only for some. Elitist.

Many things have changed though and now IMO it's no more the best we can do.

Matriarchy: I agree. We are going there and I welcome the idea for most of women have high emotional intelligence.
Unfortunately we are increasing the amount of superstructures, consequently more overhead, more institutions, more laws. Far less freedom. I wish for a change in direction: less rules and less authorities. This must go along with "increased culture" and deeper understanding.

About Chinese culture: I know little about it. What do you think should be taken from it? What's positive?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30