The Reason Millennials are "Lazy"

in #society7 years ago

A lot of people like to accuse Generation Y aka the "millennials" of being lazy and entitled snowflakes. But is this fair?

And if this is a true statement, why is this the case? That's why I'll be trying to address in this video.

Sort:  

Arrested development innit, first generation in a while that hasn't done better than the previous

think again thus your are now using the blockchain that is the essence of the generation Y, you will see...
We don't want to live with the old ways anymore
peace

Fair enough, I just meant previous generations have had more financial and asset milestones earlier: first house, first car, second car, savings for retirement, etc. I don't know many with these things in order. Cheers

They are not lazy.

I reject the meaningful application of this term "millennial".

Human's strive to find order in what can seem like a chaotic world, and part of that is our creation of arbitrary generalizations like millennial. Add to that people from prior generations historically have always looked at the next generation and said "they have it easy". Right? In the end I think generational titles are perhaps most useful at creating an "us" and a "them", and that I would argue is not usually a positive distinction because we sympathize with those who we identify, and criticize and are less sympathetic for those we don't identify with.

Do 20-something's exist? Yes. Do they all share a set of traits which can fairly describe them as individuals, generally? Wow, that sounds diminishing, insulting and prejudicial, in my opinion.

Not saying this video is insulting, just trying to really push back against this idea of generational identity as a meaningful thing.

Nevertheless, love the content. Love the video. Appreciate your time.

If anyone is interested in hearing more about my argument, check out CollegeHumor's, Adam Conover's video, it is funny and informative, and about this exact topic:

“Generations are a convenient lens through which we look at people, and the question is how useful the particular lens we are using? …the thing is the categories we use tend to reveal our own prejudices and opinions about the people we are describing, so you have to ask yourself is the description we’re using actually helping us to learn or do anything at all?”
Adam Conover

I love watching you videos and hearing your opinion on various topics. It's good that you have the opportunity to make money doing something you love, and are passionate about. I find that can make a huge difference in your outlook while getting ready to "go to work" every day.

You could say I ended up living the millennial dream, to an extent. I went to school and got a diploma in IT so that I could get a good job with decent benefits in an office. But even though I went to a local Community College for what is basically a trade education I have (what I consider) a large student dept that likely won't be paid off for 5-10 years, and I know that my debt is on the small side for the average amount of student debt this generation generates.

Thanks @louisthomas probably my favourite video I have seen of yours. What you talk about with the lack of hope is what every new generation goes through and you will have the many that don't make it through and just get by. You hit the nail on the head with the problem facing the youth of today in regards to house prices and cost of living I just don't know how they can do it so can see why they wouldn't bother or have no desire to. What I am seeing is a change in the landscape of what they want and how they belive life should progress which is a completely different to what the generation before expects so you will get clashes. You guys are responsible for shaping the future though so no pressure but whatever you believe in follow it through. Keep up the honesty and good work

Hey ...This is Nice

Great job..:) post your very interesting, I like your post, because it can add insight for me and all the people in stemeet, I love to read and see new things in my life, hopefully others also like your post, I hope posts next can provide thing better yet, so that I know many things in my life, thank you :)

In my country, lots of millenials are lazy and quite afraid of work. Lots of them think that a lot of things should be free (or paid by taxpayers). On ther other hand, lots of students have to work hard by necessity because they are not entitled to benefits. When you work hard, the value of your work and the value of the money you earned. People expect too much from the government. Lots of them wait for a providential politician instead of working hard to reach their goals...

Lazy & Crazy... But nothing wrong with that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43