100% ORIGINAL: Boobs.

in #society7 years ago (edited)

So now that I've got your attention, there's a topic I've been wanting to talk about for a while now. Being CF (Child Free, meaning I don't have nor do I intend to have kids), I hang out in a couple of childfree facebook groups. And a recurring topic that has been showing up for a while, in the media in general, is public breastfeeding. 

You get the title now?  

Some childfree, and other people too, have been voicing their disagreement with allowing women to breastfeed in public. And they are right to, to some extend. Because although sexuality has become such a central yet tabou element of our many societies, not everyone is comfortable with nudity, even more so when unexpected. And I get it.  

I don't really have a problem with nudity. I've already seen a guy touching himself while drunkenly biking in the night. I've also had to witness some love-making at an outdoorsy party, but hey, when the seal is broken… So anything else I could possibly see in the public space, well, it still won't beat that cyclist and his hand.  

But overly-descriptive stories aside, I profoundly believe that if you want the freedom to choose whether or not you wanna play beach volleyball bare chest, or simply sunbathe on your balcony without any swimsuit top, or not wear a bra underneath a tight tank top, without having your breast being sexualized before simply being considered a simple part of the human body the way you consider a foot or an elbow, then you cannot be against public breastfeeding.  

We cannot say that boobs should be kept hidden while performing a certain task, and then hold the statement that yes, the nipples should be freed. It would be like kicking out three Jewish LGBTQ women from a Chicago Dyke march just because of their religious belief... oh wait.  

(I hope) we all march towards the same desire of equal liberty, and freedom of choice and freedom of exposure. Censorship, especially on the human body, it the trigger to irrational and violent hate. And regardless of what we each are, our bodies have the same right to exist on this planet. And just because some people are too lost in their own mind does not mean that I should or will submit to hiding myself, or even worse, developing horrible tan lines. 

In discovering the social sphere of childfree people, I've seen that many of the women are feminists, or if you're afraid of the word, women that are for gender equality, aka basic human rights. Actually, the great majority of it is - supportive, funny and open-minded, about many topics and in many ways. So it puzzles me to see that some of them condone public breastfeeding, even if done discretely. 

Just like that woman in the tram today, talking to a college girl about how she prefers to get her hair done by men because they wouldn't possibly be jealous of her, and subsequently, purposefully not giving their best. Because well, women are catty.  

It's already difficult to move towards the equitable world most of us want to live in. Let us not shoot ourselves in the foot.

And as a treat for making it till the very end of this hobo's twaddle, I give you the crème de la crème of breasts:http://www.lifebuzz.com/women-breasts/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56