A Simple App to Help Stop Human Trafficking.

in #society7 years ago (edited)

Since we have so many people on Steemit I wanted to post this app I just learned about because it could seriously help victims.


and I know a lot of you travel!



Basically there is now an app that you can install on your device to take photos of your hotel room in order to help identify the rooms in footage out there of victims being forced to pose in hotel rooms. It is called Traffickcam. (link to the app on the bottom of blog) Right now there are already hundreds of pictures uploaded per day in an effort to help police identify these victims, many of which are children.

From the victims that have been rescued most of them were forced into the world of human trafficking when they were only about thirteen. We can make a difference and it isn't even a difficult task. Just take a few minutes in your hotel room and snap some photos of it and upload them using the app.

I personally am too disabled to travel at this moment but when I can travel again I will sure as heck take photos of every room I am in when I stop. How horrible to think that those beds we sleep on while enjoying our travels may be the same beds children are forced to pose in for sick adults? shudders

Some facts on Human Trafficking:

(These facts are from: https://polarisproject.org/facts Check out the site for even more information)

The International Labour Organization estimates that there are 20.9 million victims of human trafficking globally.

  • 68% of them are trapped in forced labor.
  • 26% of them are children.
  • 55% are women and girls.

The International Labor Organization estimates that forced labor and human trafficking is a $150 billion industry worldwide.
The U.S. Department of Labor has identified 139 goods from 75 countries made by forced and child labor.
In 2016, an estimated 1 out of 6 endangered runaways reported to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children were likely child sex trafficking victims.
Of those, 86% were in the care of social services or foster care when they ran.
There is no official estimate of the total number of human trafficking victims in the U.S. Polaris estimates that the total number of victims nationally reaches into the hundreds of thousands when estimates of both adults and minors and sex trafficking and labor trafficking are aggregated.

If you are going to steemfest PLEASE use this tool!!!

Consider resteeming so more people are made aware of this useful tool!



here is a link to the app: https://traffickcam.com/

Sort:  

Resteemed :)
Just so you know I'm off to bed heheh :) I'll talk to you tomorrow heheh :)

Yay! Thanks. And you need rest, girl! Talk to you tomorrow. :)

I resteemed after I saw it from @kaylinart. That's like an extra 3k people that saw it right there. Nice work!

Wow. If a time can also be established... Geeks continue to free the world!

Isn't it awesome? :D

That is a really great app! I will be sure to download and use it the next time I'm in a hotel. If everyone helps out, this might actually save lives in the long run!

I agree it could surely save some lives! thank you for using it!! :)

I'm sitting in a hotel room now. I'll give it a shot.

Awesome!! Thanks so much. I know lots of Steemers are travelers. :)

No problem. It took seconds. You should request the everybody attending Steemfest do the same.

I am not really sure how to make that request? People have to actually see the blog. I will add it to the blog? What else should I do you think?

Post your link (to this article) as a reply to any blog on Steemfest.

You dont think thatd be too spammy? I would really like to share it though so maybe as long as I leave a genuine response and then, by the way while youre enjoying your travels get this app and help stop human trafficking!

This is a very useful app especially to frequent travellers.

Yes! which is why I thought Steemit would be a great place to try to spread it.

Exactly, since there are lots of travellers here.

Awesome app, thanks for sharing. Followed

Thank you! I think this is pretty groundbreaking potentially. And I followed back! :)

Upped, RS'd. Also followed, maybe you'd get along well with my content as well!

This is a topic I'm pretty passionate about and this project has the ability to help immensely, the next time and any future times I'm in a hotel room I'll be taking pictures.

Thank you so much! Definitely a topic I care about as I was sort of forced into that lifestyle as a kid by my own father who forced me to take pics and invited people over to....yeah you get the idea. So yes, very passionate about this and eager for change.

Also followed back. :D

Thank you so much, my passion doesn't stem from a similar thread, but as a sex worker, I'm always on edge meeting clients because of this stuff, and I'm always carrying a knife in public.

I beg for a day that I don't have to be afraid like this.

We all have our reasons for caring and yours is very valid. It is a real concern as a sex worker for sure. I am glad you are taking precautions for protecting yourself!

I have to, I will not become one of my statistics <3

You owe me a follow still ;)

I thought I had followed you. XD haha Followed now!! :)

You're awesome. Thank you very very much and I honestly hope you love my content <3

I was just browsing your page a bit and it definitely looks like I will enjoy having you in my feed. :)

and likewise. I hope you enjoy at least some of my content being in your feed. ^_^

Will ne installing this app

Thank you!! :D I hope I can get many people to install it.

Awesome and very useful... Thanks for sharing! Followed

Thank you so much. Followed back!

You're welcome and thank you too for the follow back. I'll make sure to create and also resteem only quality contents on my wall.

I will be sharing this with my peers!

Thank you!! :D I shared in a few places. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48