You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Share your toughts! Global inequality

in #society6 years ago (edited)

Thanks @damarth for bringing up this sort of discussion. Well from where I come the rich just keep getting richer and the poor keeps getting poorer. Nigeria is a land blessed with so many wonderful gifts but our corrupt leaders are not willing to move the Nation foward with it. I livr in a country where the approved minimum wage is #18,000 and to rent an apartment will cost you #15,000 above a month.

I remember growing up things was very difficult for us because the government refused to pay my father and other workers salary for over a year, things was so bad that we couldn't feed, some days my sister will win free drinks from promo organized by beverage companies and we'll sell them to buy roadside food to survive. But as bad as this period was for us there were people that were experiencing hardship far worse and when I think of this I feel my heart burn.

The gap between the poor and the rich in my society is just so alarming. People can't feed, cloth themselves, go to school and there are many homeless around us.

We as individuals should always seek to help those that are less priviledged in any little way we can. Change starts from individuals, one day some of us here will be in position of power and if we don't have the right attitude now we won't be different from our failed leaders.

I have been habouring ideas of using steemit to affect the life of those lesser priviledged I see everyday especially the little kids that are starving, these kids beg to survive and I see them everyday. Hopefully I'll be able to start up a project on steemit which if successful will enable me to provide at least 1 meal a day for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 62843.32
ETH 3475.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53