Working Out Loud!

in #society7 years ago (edited)

I think there's a great opportunity around here to transform the face of individual development and social cooperation. Ever since joining this platform, I've been wanting to figure out a good angle to write a simplified guide to what we can do around here so any users can immediately start to improve their experience on this platform.

We've all been doing it, but maybe it deserves to be highlighted and contextualised. Here's what the concept is about:-

"Working Out Loud starts with making your work visible in such a way that it might help others. When you do that - when you work in a more open, connected way - you can build a purposeful network that makes you more effective and provides access to more opportunities."
by John Stepper

Some people spend years and years just working quietly behind closed doors. Like many of us and our millions of untested ideas. I'm beginning to think, why waste so much time on developing things alone? If it takes time to develop stuff, why not just work it out in the open from day one? Similarly, I can also join in on whatever others are trying to do. Everybody's working on something anyway. The low-barrier voting micro-rewards around here adds to the notion of #WOL. So I guess such a simple frame-of-mind can immediately improve anyone's experience around here.

Personally, I think John Stepper - the person who developed #WOL might've accidentally developed a framework / culture that's very suitable for something like Steemit. With that, I'm going to attempt a book idea in a #WOL setting some time in the future, and make my Steemit routine like a #WOL routine. I think that it may be important to recognise this quality in the platform so we can explicitly encourage and inspire the spirit of contribution from time-to-time.

Image source - 1

Sort:  

#WOL looks like it was made exactly for Steem.
Steem looks like it was made exactly for #WOL.

Exactly lol. Imagine writing a diary for a couple of decades, what if all of those contents in the diary is put out in the open? Really nothing to lose but so much to gain. (But of course personal dramatics aren't really called for if its put in public space)

Thank you @kevinwong! I might've been working for decades on lots of things, but you make me #workingoutloud! So I can thrive and proceed!

Yeah, anything at all, nothing to lose putting it out if you don't mind sharing ideas and thoughts. Too much of it these days anyway, and even if somebody else gets inspired and do it themselves, it's still something that goes to fruition..

One of my math teachers always said "show your work".
Same concept I think.
Not a bad idea.

Zero potential behind closed doors. Infinitely much more in the open..

Mr. Wong thank you.

Thank you, yes putting it out in the open, Steemit is a fantastic design, finally I have a gateway to success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54