You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moral Dilemma: What would you do?

in #society8 years ago (edited)

I would question why, with their ability to construct habitation and presumably tools that they aren't focused on construction of a new vessel (since their original is beyond repair) to leave the island. They obviously have access to means of construction as they have built a habitable community. The fact that their is a shortage of food for long term sustained life only further indicates the necessity of leaving. I would have the people work for the construction of a means to escape. If people were to die as a result of that process and bring population levels down closer to sustainable levels, then so be it. However one can not justifiably choose to kill people, as their is no acceptable selection criterion. Everyone is useful for some reason, even if that reason is not apparent at any one given moment.

Sort:  

I guess I didn't make it clear that the chances of being able to build a ship that could carry them far enough successfully weren't very good. This is a philosophical question, in the end, and the idea is to lay out the framework in such a way to guide people in a specific direction. It is an analogy which I will eventually explain. :)

Thank you very much for your participation! I appreciate it! If you do, too, please upvote the original post.

I already did upvote it. If I comment then I upvoted. :)

Ah, it didn't show that when I looked before. In fact, it only showed that I'd upvoted it. Now there are 38 votes. :) I'm still trying to figure out how to use steemit successfully, as I really need a source of income.

steemit.chat is a real-time chat powered by rocket.chat. So there are rooms like #science and others, where you can post links to your steemit work. Most of us are on there, and use it to discuss and share posts. You can gain your self a lot more exposure by talking to people in real time, and sharing your work directly.

Thanks for explaining! I guess I'll have to give it a go...But now it's time to sleep. :)

Best of luck as you learn. Have you signed up for steemit.chat? If not, that is a good place to promote your work and gain your self more views.

Not yet. How does it work?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84