i see minions everywhere

in #society2 years ago

img_1886.png

My friends are currently sporting rainbows on their social media profile. Elon Musk gained some redemption points because he’s planning to open a Tesla charging station with a drive-in theatre in Hollywood. And most exciting of all…..This is it. This. Is. It!!

This is the week Trump goes to jail!

Last month’s news has retired on the heap. I’m still living in Spaceship JNET, commencing on year THREE of sheltering solo. And people are still telling me it’s too dangerous for me to go out until I get vaxxed. Is Covid still a thing? I see friends in photos surrounded by tons of people at pride events.

I thought of venturing out and checking out a meet up but I feel like Rip Van Winkle looking at the world and thinking “No thank you. Maybe later. I’d rather chill with myself and watch the circus online.” I only went out to vote and then went straight home.

Well I like rainbows too! So here is mine for you.

img_3678

I’ve always chosen to sidestep the currents of popular culture. I’ve always sat on the banks’ edge like a tourist and watched the flow with amusement. The world feels even more distant as I’ve skipped on many of the bonding events. I didn’t watch Game Of Thrones, Tiger King, or Squid Game. I never made it past the first episode of Stranger Things because it was too scary for me. Instead, I watched people become like a social blob. They all got their shots and posted the moment online. Some even made music videos that went viral around the world. I didn’t get my shot with a year of free doughnuts. I didn’t march in any events that got me tear-gassed. I feel like an odder odd ball than I was pre-Covid.

Now, I truly don’t fit in and I’m not sure if people still embrace Vive La Différence.

I see minions everywhere with their collective excitement (BANANA!) to their solidarity of outrage. They rally together and change their frames of their profile photos. It’s kind of cute. They are always happy even when something terrible happens. They’ve found fellowship in complaining, changing avatar frames, and always making time to take a photo of their cocktail to share online.

img_3636

I’m not pill-shaped enough to linger incognito and I don’t have the stamina to stay trendy. I lasted less than a minute watching the Depp-Heard court drama before becoming too disgusted to continue. These celebrities are UBER wealthy and yet lead miserable lives. It was The Jerry Springer Show; Hollywood ELITE edition. How did they get such attentive coverage and yet other court cases like Ghislaine Maxwell didn’t allow cameras and an artist drew renderings of selective moments? You would think that a profitable blackmailing scheme that trapped powerful people doing terrible things to children would create protests, fundraising and awareness. But the interest and outrage is minimal. And so, very real bad people continue doing their thing. I got called out on being negative and told I needed to cheer up.

img_3680

So right. No use worrying about supervillains of the world.

I won’t be having a banana but I can’t help looking at people in my new amusing way. Minions are happy cute creatures. Aren’t they?

BANANA!

JNET

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61399.80
ETH 2987.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42