You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Current Condition

in #society8 years ago (edited)

I agree. Falsity not only comes from external sources imposed on us via our friends, family, institutions and society in general, it is reflected in our self talk, our inner thoughts and subconscious. Our inner world is not only influenced by our perceptions of the external "now" but also from early childhood trauma that is inflicted upon us at a very susceptible young age by imperfect parents. We, myself included, learned very early to bury that trauma as a way to cope with the painful reality we experienced. We learned this even before we understood time, so we still act as though the trauma is an active threat.

So unless you can find a way to face what we bury deep within and process the old traumas with our adult minds, it will be as a thorn in our psyche that replays the response we devised so long ago whenever events trigger it.

I procrastinate and justify my avoidance of working through old wounds through a myriad of excuses, when I should be using the tools at my disposal such as Internal Family Systems Therapy to expose the falsity at work in me. Acknowledging the existence of the deep rooted dysfunction is a crucial first step, but that's not enough to heal from it.

Thanks for this Kris. I needed to be reminded about my responsibility to stop being passive and commit to the work that must be done to identify, process and excise the falsity deep within.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52