You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 50 Shades of Reality: Is there more than one truth?

in #society7 years ago

Truth is can be a slippery slope.

It is 75 degrees outside. One person says "it's HOT!" Another says "It's COLD!" What is the truth? It may be a fact that it's 75 degrees... but are facts and truth necessarily the same? Probably not.

THE truth is almost impossible to ascertain as one would need perfect knowledge of all things past, present and future. "A" truth can more readily be established if a framework of reference is placed around it. But it seems to me that "truth" is more of a philosophical exercise than a real world thing... although I used to swear to my mom that it was "the truth" that I made it to school on time, even though I left home late!

Sort:  

Very nice thoughts, @denmarkguy. Thanks for sharing!
I think we all have little secrets like the one you mentioned...:)) In my case it was a jacket I didn´t want to put on when it was too cold. I put it on when I left home - to please my mom. Then I took it off when I was some steps away from our house... Unfortunately, I didn´t know my mom had a perfect view on the street from our kitchen´s window. Some weeks ago (so many years later) she told me, that she cried laughing seeing me all the time putting on my jacket when I was arriving at home after school... So she knew 'the truth' for many years, but she didn´t want to destroy mine. I love her for many reasons, and that´s one of them :)

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46