You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beautiful Hollow American Girls

in #society8 years ago

Sitting here, thinking about what you wrote and I'm finally at a point where it seems that "good for you for knowing who you are, and standing by that!" is the most appropriate response.

As you touched on, this whole issue can really be a two-way street. I'm originally from Denmark (a highly gender-egalitarian society) and came to the US and found myself surprised at the dynamic between the sexes here-- both in terms of rich men feeling "entitled" to young pretty girls like they were property to be bought AND the pretty young girls who came across as entitled to "all that, and MORE" simply for being attractive and breathing. It felt weird and wrong to me... still does, even now that I'm an old fossil and have lived in the US for 30 years. For me, intelligence, hustle and kindness always win the day...

To answer your question, I don't know what we can do to change these norms... other than maybe reject stereotyping? De-emphasize the "commercial value" of attractiveness? The beauty industry is HUGE, yet millions of young women struggle emotionally because they are being "taught" that their worth is wrapped up in how hot they are, not WHO they are or what they can DO. I'll stop rambling here (because this could become really long!), but it's certainly an important debate warranting attention.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your proper response. I agree that the beauty industry has influenced the majority of young women. I guess as parents we have to teach our children or future children or youth not to be mislead by these unrealistic standards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53