The Summer After High SchoolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #society7 years ago

We're right around the time where most high schools are out for the summer and the seniors have graduated so I decided to make a reflection post on that summer after high school.

Graduation

For many of us, it's one of the greatest days of our lives. And for the people who peaked in high school, I'm sorry. Once you walk across that stage you gain what you think is instant freedom. Some choose to attend 4 year universities, some choose to go to junior colleges, and some join the military. But one thing is for sure, you're growing up. By this time you're either 18 or close to it and most are ready to be adults (whether their parents want them to be or not).

The First Half

Looking back on my summer after high school, two years ago already, I feel as though I could have made it far better if I just knew the things I know now. Some of it comes from reflection and some of it has come from maturing the last two years. The first half of your summer after high school should be spent adventuring. Go on that hike you've been wanting to. Stay out late driving haunted roads with your friends. Use every bit of sunlight you get and some moonlight if you can. Be a kid. That's the biggest advice I can. You might not still be in high school anymore but there is nothing wrong with still being a kid.

The Second Half

As summer winds on, you need to start thinking about what comes next. If it's off to a 4 year university, you need to get organized and pack (but not too much, dorms are small). If you're headed to basic training in August, get prepared physically and mentally. If you're staying at home and attending a junior college, be ready for a lot of your friends to leave you. But no matter what, cherish everything you do. Your life is at the point where things start changing drastically. Cherish your time with your family, your friends, your dog, etc. Enjoy everything you do and don't waste any time.

About Me

I'm going to be a third year bioengineering major at San Diego State University this fall. Looking back at graduation two years ago and seeing how much I've grown as a person since then inspired this post. I've learned a lot inside and outside the classroom, matured, and become a very different person. If I could change one thing from my summer after graduation it would be my lack of enjoying everything I did and cherishing the time I had with my family.


If you enjoyed this post, don't forget to upvote, resteem and comment about your summer after high school!

Sort:  

be thankful for the time you had and embrace the change

Definitely! It's crazy to see how much I've changed just in two years!

Right after high school, I was busy for entrance exams in different universities no more time to have vacation. I don't have regrets knowing that before the school year starts I'm well-prepared. Wow! That was 20 years ago.

Yeah always good to be prepared going into college!

Excellent post that applies everywhere in life! Time goes by so fast so it's important to cherish it and not waste it. Upvoted and following you! Thanks for a great post :)

Thank you for the kind words, I think everyone needs to just stop sometimes and enjoy where they are in life. Followed you back!

Thanks so much for that! Hope you've had a great day :)

I remember being told that my high school years would be the 'best days' of my life and thinking 'hmmmm, if these are the best days, I'm in trouble'. I think it's a wise person who can cherish each moment or phase of life and also continue to look forward to the 'best days' ahead. As the old song goes, 'The best is yet to come'. Thanks for a very poignant post. Best of luck with your studies.

I definitely don't agree they are the best days of your life, teenagers can be mean. Adults at least try to act nice most of the time haha. Thanks for commenting, loved the insight!

You are a refreshing young man. I do like your value of reflection. When I was in High School, I always took time to reflect on things.

I was sort of an artistic type - so observing Nature, and people, came natural to me.

I recall I changed a lot from age 18 to 19. I hadn't dated much in H.S. - partly because I did not want to place myself in harms way by riding around a lot in other people's cars. Which was a wise choice. Hope you continue to make wise choices - and please do be careful driving out in California.

I remember seeing people doing cocaine right in their car as they were driving ! So .. always be on the Lookout !

Very glad you're appreciating yr life. And I think you're right - nothing wrong with still being a kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72