You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Time-Outs to Caging Adults

in #society6 years ago

"We "wake up" and realize we've been lied to in so many ways -- although unintentional -- by our parents, friends, and society due to everyone being so trapped in it." There is a hazard there too. Sometimes this seems to "break" people in various ways. Some double down on the lie and drive themselves crazy because they can never reconcile reality with their view of it. Others can go too far in the other direction and trade one falsehood for another because they begin to believe anything that opposes the official narratives which is flawed. The reason those lies have such an effect is because they contain a fair amount to truth to mask themselves. If one throws everything out, they disregard that bit of truth along with the fabrications.

I think you touch a bit when you say "It takes time to learn how to think better." I agree and would argue that a fair amount of people need to be taught how to think about things, how to weigh them, and compare them to our understanding of reality. Even that is not a perfect solution but it may help with the adverse reactions that occur when one begins to see through the lies.

Sort:  

Others can go too far in the other direction and trade one falsehood for another because they begin to believe anything that opposes the official narratives which is flawed.

Yup, I call that polarized doubt and hyper-skepticism. Flat earthers went that way ;)

Nice I like the terms. Haha yeah some people get pretty crazy with stuff. I would never do this, but I often wonder how many people would buy a completely fabricated conspiracy theory that I made up. I am sure I would get a couple if I made it sensational enough lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44