You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anonymity and Social Growth: Blockchain's New Proposal

in #socialmedia6 years ago

[...] However, unlike Facebook, there is no requisite public information. One does not need to upload a personal image, describe anything personal unless willing, and can even operate on the social-media site without disclosing a real name or face. No data can be extracted other than the actions and content performed by that account’s owner.

Absolutely, that's how I operate here 😎 I feel that the facts of personal identity are a distraction from debate, the work and actions one does on a platform and lead to inevitable ad homs.

Is there a limit though? As an anonymous user I've spent some time thinking about this. What if I was a truly monstrous person, would anyone know? I guess I conclude that if I was it would come out eventually, I don't think anyone can be so careful. And then, what if I was never monstrous here, doesn't that make me effective not a monster, at least here? Is behavior the sum total? I'm inclined to agree, but there is a still plenty of doubt for me around it.

What I do agree with is judging people on their actions and words, not on facts about them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50