You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could We One Day See a Service on Steem for Detecting Bots?

in #socialmedia7 years ago

I suggested this to some friends and followers in February and added it to my project ideas tracker with name Bot or not?

Analyse activity on a Steemit account for markers that there is a bot controlling it.

Possible markers:

  • Voting in bulk
  • Voting very frequently throughout the day, or very periodically (with similar intervals between voting)
  • Comments or posts with the same or similar text

Just like the Twitter bot detector guys said. I think it would be easy enough to find 95% of bots, and you'd need some advanced machine learning or similar to find the rest. If there's a desire for this I could try to find some time to do it in the next months.

The question is begged though: why would someone want it? Would it affect your patronage of someone's posts, or your friendship with them? Or reverse it, that the service will give a badge to people who are demonstrably not bots?

Sort:  

Wow cool. I think those are some great questions to ask. I think it would be a good thing to have a service like that on Steem that give a type of badge as this seems a more positive way to go and give a user more "credibility".

I think it's something to experiment with ;)

Could be something to do. Maybe I'll do it through utopian.io since they now have over 3M in funds so might actually be worth while 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62