I Just Permanently Deleted Facebook (I'm pretty sure I still exist)

in #socialmedia5 years ago

I feel amazing right now. Free, if you will.

Minutes ago, I permanently deleted my Facebook account (not deactivated it).

It was eye-opening to realize how few people I needed to let know of my actions. Out of all my Facebook friends, only about 10-15 people were close enough to warrant a text informing them of the deletion.

Why?

I severely disapprove of how Facebook uses and abuses data. As a distant second, I think Facebook culture has become little more than memes and clickbait links.

Now, I'm all-in on blockchain-based social networks.

I'll be posting here, on Cent.co and on Murmur.

Feels good!

Do you still have a Facebook account? What's keeping you from deleting it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00