My Take on Social Media and Self-Worth

in #socialmedia7 years ago

618623AF-461E-4B99-961B-EA895A3A44B3.jpeg
I, like many people my age, am almost constantly on, or at least with, my phone. Don’t get me wrong, my phone and social media are tools, something that I can choose to use a certain way. I think by itself it’s not bad, it’s about how you use it.

Social media can be great for connecting with other people, sharing your story or creations, even advertisement for business. Social media can also help you along in the not so great habit of comparison.
It can be so easy to scroll through Instagram and see all these photos of people out accomplishing or doing things and feel like you can’t live up to that. Comparing yourself to other people, whether that be in achievements or looks or popularity, does not make for a good feeling, trust me 😂.

And here’s the thing: you’re comparing what you know about yourself, your worst moments, to people’s edited best moments. Life isn’t all roses for them either even if it looks that way.
Alrighty so what do we do? Delete social media? I mean.... yea maybe.. take a break every once in a while.

But I think that maybe the real issue is the question of “where do you find your worth?”
Plot twist: you’re not gonna find it in the amount of followers or likes you get. That’s momentary and can disappear in an instant.

As a person of faith I believe we get our worth from God and we can rest in that fact. Nothing can take away your worth because God gave it to you. I struggle to realize this sometimes (maybe more often than not 😅) but everything else could be taken away; my abilities, possessions, really any earthly thing, but it wouldn’t matter because God is always and will always be there. So we don’t have to compare ourselves to others in an unhealthy way and we don’t have to feel that pressure to look like we have everything together all the time.

Anyway those are some of my thoughts. This take on social media isn’t exactly unique but thanks for reading! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43