Social Media Tip #8 Build Your Twitter Following Quickly!

in #socialmedia8 years ago (edited)

Learn How to Build Your Twitter with Targeted Growth.

Twitter is the bullhorn of business. If you are serious about your online brand then Twitter is a vital syndication point for your content. For years I personally disliked Twitter. I thought the engagement was shallow and the content boring.

Once Twitter decided to allow images and media I jumped on board. I still only half-assed it. Then Google made the decision to begin indexing some Tweets again. All In!!

So for the last year and a half I have been building a substantial presence on Twitter. We currently have over 15 accounts that we own plus have been given authority to use another 10. This makes it easy for us to make an impact on the platform.

Today We Are Going to Focus on Building Your Followers.

There have been studies done that show the more followers you have on Twitter the more likely Google will index your Tweets. The other factor is the amount of likes and Retweets the content receives. So the easiest way to build your influence on Twitter is to build your followers.

Don't Buy Followers to Feed Your Ego!!!

Whenever I see someone buy followers I shake my head. This is only feeding your narcissism and the feeling that you need to keep up with your neighbor. There is only one time where you might want to do this. Twitter has an algorithm that searches for bot activity. If your account has less than 1,000 followers you might get flagged for what I am going to teach you. In this instance go to Fiverr.com and order the amount you need to break the 1,000 follower barrier. That is it, no more after that!

The Social Media Game on Twitter is Different than Other Platforms.

The act of following and unfollowing people on Twitter is common practice. This is how you build a substantial following quickly. If you did this on other platforms you would quickly be alienated. The only one similar is Instagram but recent rule changes on that platform have made it more difficult.

The key to growing your Twitter following is using tools. Never use the main platform to do this. It is way to tedious and time intensive. My favorite tool to use is Crowdfire. I use this tool to follow from 50-200 people per day depending on the size of the Twitter account. The more followers you have the more you can follow and unfollow without Twitter flagging your account. If you want to be more aggressive spread your following and unfollowing out throughout the day.

Guidelines to Protect Your Account When Following

<1000 Follow no more than 50 accounts per day.
<5000 Follow no more than 150 accounts per day.
<9999 Follow up to 300 accounts per day.

With the Free account you will be limited to following 25 people per day.

Here is the Pricing Table for Crowdfire.

Twitter Has Rules Concerning Following Limits.

This means you also need to unfollow people. I usually follow accounts for 4 days and then unfollow for 3 days. Do not unfollow people who are following you unless they have done something to deserve it. Have you seen my article, "Social Media Tip #2 Connect"? I discuss why it is important to take the SOCIAL in social media serious.

Freely unfollow the accounts that don't follow you back. If there is an account you like but they do not follow you back you can WhiteList it on Crowdfire. Alternatively if there is an account that you find annoying you can BlackList it. Once you have unfollowed the accounts that do not follow you back you can repeat the whole process. The limits of unfollowing are a little more liberal.

Guidelines to Protect Your Account When Unfollowing.

<1000 UnFollow no more than 75 accounts per day.
<5000 UnFollow no more than 125 accounts per day.
<9999 UnFollow up to 400 accounts per day.

I Recommend You Log In Twice a Day to Perform These Actions. Don't be overly aggressive, or You Might Deal with the Twitter Police.

How Much Time Does All of This Take?

If you have one account on Twitter, that you are building, you can literally accomplish this in under 2 minutes per day. You can also follow and unfollow using the Crowdfire mobile app.

What Kind of Results Can I Expect?

Each niche is different on Twitter. Some niches are filled with crappy bot accounts. The goal is to follow as many real accounts as you can. If you follow 1000 accounts a week you can expect 10-20% growth depending on your following skills.

How Can I Make Sure I Follow the Right Accounts?

Crowdfire gives you the ability to follow people in two ways. One is to follow the followers of another account. For example you have a local news outlet that uses Twitter. You can literally follow the users of that account until it is exhausted. Then find another account that has followers that fit your niche.

I prefer to follow users based on hashtags. This gives me the opportunity to follow people who have Tweeted about the subject I care about. This method takes a little longer for Crowdfire to bring up the accounts but it is worthwhile.

The paid version also allows you to narrow down followers based on locations. Some accounts don't need location targeting but if you are a local business then this is an important feature.

Here is a Well Done Video About Using Crowdfire to Build Your Twitter Following.

Are There Other Tools?

Yes there are other tools you can use to build your Twitter following. I use Crowdfire, so I stick to that. If you have another tool you use please mention it below.

Follow me on Twitter--> Randy Hilarski on Twitter
Our Business--> $200 Social

Sort:  

It's like you've read my mind. I've been meaning to get my Twitter account going. You have motivated me to start today! I'll be looking forward to your next post. I had no idea about the bot detection. That's interesting.

That is what I like to see! Have fun with it but take it easy in the beginning.

I haven't used twitter in quite some time but I will definitely try this....thanks for the info :)

No problem, since Tweets are now being indexed again it should be a priority.

Awesome, going to give it another try for sure then!

I use Quuu.co to get relevant content to share - it's helped me go from nowhere to somewhere at least, since I'm now publishing several times a day. Going to check out Crowdfire now. Thanks for the info!

I will check that one out, thanks for heads up.

Looks good to try out! :)

Go for it! Let me know the results after a few months.

Excellent advice. I had no idea about the following/unfollowing thing. I've just been growing my Twitter followers organically by posting, tagging, and engaging. It's pretty slow going. I've gotten over 330 followers in about six months. This sounds like a technique that will get me more followers more quickly. Does it work on Instagram, too? I'm only just learning about how to use Instagram, and it's a little trickier than Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73