Social Media Tip #4 Quality Plus Consistency for Success

in #socialmedia8 years ago

Do You Want to Be Successful Online?

Can you recall an actor or actress over the last decade who seemed like they were everywhere and then for no apparent reason they literally disappeared? How about an actor or actress that keeps pumping out great movies?

This is a phenomenon that is common on social media also. I regularly see great minds come on the scene but they all of a sudden disappear into the shadows. Their Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus go eerily silent. Where did these people go?

Then you have folks like my friend Michael Q Todd who is always around. He may be working on different projects but he always finds time to engage his followers across social media. The sad part is that the folks like Michael are very rare.

The key to Michael and I's success is not that we put out the best content. There are plenty of people online who are better writers, content producers or marketers. The key to our success is consistency. We are here day after day, week after week, year after year learning, engaging with our audience and building our personal brands.

If I look back at the amount of people who I have met online that have chosen to let their personal brand grow idle, it gives me great sadness. You see the most important thing that you own online is your personal brand. I don't care what platform you are on.

You and I are probably not whales on Steemit so we have to approach the platform differently. You and I need to provide quality content on a consistent basis. On top of that we need to connect, engage and network with other Steemit users.

Did you know I check all of your profiles before I follow you? It seems the biggest complainers are the ones who follow very few people and produce crap content. Or they wrote one piece of content that performed poorly weeks ago.

Let me tell you a little secret about Steemit. The audience you build here will follow you to other platforms if you provide enough value and show them that you are authentic. What we are going to find in the coming months is that many folks will quit Steemit because they feel they did not get any value out of it.

These folks are the short term thinkers who find a way to complain about everything in life. Don't mind them, you are reading this because you want to be successful.

Focus on the Steemit end game. This platform might exponentially grow or die a slow death but in the end you can and will make lasting relationships on this platform.

Don't be a Steemit voyeur! Get into the game today. Start making content consistently. I don't care if you feel like it is not good enough. Start learning how to write, make videos or make images. They are all content that can be consumed throughout social media and Steemit.

Be Obsessive!!

Sort:  

I can't believe this post is only at 20 bucks. Litterly more useful than 99% of steemit posts lol.

I appreciate that!

So true. Staying consistent and staying in the game long term is key. However, most people get discouraged and give up right before they reach success. I feel like in a few months, Steemit is going to be huge. And if you're putting out great content and heavily promoting it, you will be successful. We're still in the early stages of a social media revolution and we're lucky enough to have even heard about such an incredible opportunity. Thanks for writing this, @hilarski. I really needed to be reminded of this. Here's a photo of expectations versus reality when it comes to success:

bd169eae31d5e99b073241a858b6ff89.png

That there my friend is the road to success. Keep going we will get massive benefits from riding the Steemit train.

My frustration is being consistently inconsistent

Yea
I Be Obsessive!
For Sure!!!
Happy Steeming!!

Thank you for stopping by. I think you and I have Obsessive down to the letter.

I try to stay as active as I can on here, depending on what my time allows. At the very least get some curating in. I try to read a few posts as often as I can to try and help motivate people to keep going. You speak truth!

Curating is great but if you want to be known you also have to create content. Steemit is the only place I have ever seen that rewards curation. The rest of the interwebs rewards creators.

Good point: people you meet here will follow you to other platforms. It's a small internet!

It sure is and people don't miss anything.

Correct, but curation also helps build a following, which translates to more attraction to your posts!

this is true, but what is quality..i guess it depends on a voter's perspective

Sure, but the best will always rise to the top. This has been proven on every platform.

Nice little pep talk to perk me up as I sit on the train commuting to work. I think one reason people fall silent is they just get burned out. It takes a lot of effort to stay consistent at a decent level of quality. The key to not burning out is to realize it's a marathon, not a sprint. Find time to do a little when you can, but don't let it consume your life or you'll get into trouble. Also, it helps to make a plan, execute that plan, and stick to it. Get into a smooth rhythm!

For me, life is very busy and free time is a precious commodity. I have a 1.5 hour train commute to work (one way) so most of my Steemit time is via iPhone on the train. In the morning I like to focus on reading articles, voting, commenting, and finding new people to follow. On the way home at night, I fire up the Notes app and work on my next blog entry. My goal is to publish one new blog entry per week, usually on the weekend, using the material I wrote during the previous week's commutes. I aim to apply this strategy consistently, over many months, and see where it takes me.

Yes, absolutely I understand the most folks do not have all day to sit in front of a computer. These folks need take it easy. Getting burned out is a very real thing.

Wonderful! 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75