My Social Media Hiatus

in #socialmedia6 years ago

For a while there I was getting caught up in the social media shit-storm. I believe having breaks from social media (yes including steemit) is essential for well-being. Everything in moderation. I am returning to STEEM because its fucking awesome but I gave facebook the bird and all that remains is the messaging app on my phone. Remember if you feed the beast that beast will destroy you. The short term dopamine feedback loops are ripping apart our societies.

pk13.jpg
Image Source

1c4e32659be474a38f6fe972b814b357.jpg
Image Source

Dalai Lama said: People were made to be loved, and Things were made to be used. The reason why the world is in chaos is because Things are being loved and People are being used.
I say we need to regain control and flip that equation back to where it should be.

Giving social media a break has given me a chance to explore more of my passions with further depth.
The past few weeks I've been on a steep learning curve and for the umpteenth time now have jumped back down the rabbit hole. The rabbit hole which is Bitcoin, more specifically open decentralized blockchains. When I see a technology that at its core will revolutionise this world so profoundly its impossible for me to stop learning more about it. Right now I feel like a saturated sponge of new information but my desire to digest more has still not passed.

I plan to share some of my insights in the not too distant future. Stay healthy my friends!

Sort:  

@bengiles, nice thoughts! To be honest I also take sometime small breaks from Steeming (it means I post only my Actifit Report card and nothing else).

Posted using Partiko Android

I may have to take a break soon as it has been an addiction as of late as I want earn as much as I can!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thats the same dilemma I had. Especially with the price of STEEM so low atm its tempting to go all out and accumulate as much as you can. In the end however, I came to realise what is more important, feeding the addiction to make money or maintain a healthier lifestyle.

Congratulations @bengiles! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48