Sort:  

the problem is actually capital itself. Profit is unpaid wages.

The reason the most prosperous time in recent history, the American colonial heights, was quickly brought to an end, was because paper money which used land as the value backing the currency was usurped by the king and parliament and a gold/silver standard was enacted which proved to be distributed far to thinly to make any economy, and so the rampant poverty that struck the previously prosperous colonists led to the American Revolution and because there's no evidence in over an extremely long 5000 year history when Gold standard worked because it has always been counterfeit by the ones that issue it, it will never be enough to account for the economy or any portion of it, and it's vastly inconvenient to move a lot of wealth as such and the danger of being separated from the gold makes it better than cash for a thief as far as tracing the gold is concerned. Gold is a store of value, but it couldn't be currency, currency needs stability or it's valuations are worthless, from a logically consistent point with the function of currency or money.

See bibocurrency.com for a great write-up of what money is.

currency needs stability or it's valuations are worthless

Interesting thought...

I'm curious then, the US dollar has lost 95% of its purchasing power since the FED was established in 1913. Is the US dollar a currency in your eyes, seeing as by your definition it is not very stable?

I would consider gold more stable than fiat, simply because gold has gone up in value in the last 100 years, where the dollar (and all fiat for that matter) has clearly gone down. I agree gold isn't easy to transact with, but I'm not making that argument.

Fiat is closer to a currency than gold, yet both fall short when it comes to free unit creation, a standard of any and all standards of measurement. Gold as a store of value doesn't speak at all for gold as a unit of value, either we are talking about actual value or an abstract unit of value, a mile or a rope, a pound or a cut of beef, one's tangible the other forever abstract.

Also 100 years in the history of gold is nothing, if you pull back, every single time gold was used as currency it was eventually if not outright counterfeited and manipulated, it was the inconvenience of carrying gold around that directly led to the creation of fractional reserve banking, while one gold vein or even a gold cache, if they be discovered, could bring the entire value of gold into the dirt, it's no better than any other commodity, except that you can't use gold for much of anything when it comes to industry while most commodities have an intrinsic utilitarian value outside valuation itself.

Last thought about gold's value is that the singular reason for the enormous inflation of the value of gold is the confiscation of gold and the following decades of prohibition, which funneled the gold into the hands of people that are clamouring to drop the insanely inflated gold onto the fools who have no idea this is a bubble three generations in the making. I'd rather tell people to get silver instead of gold and even that would come with a pleasant warning that you cannot eat silver.

who says wealth has to be shared?
MAKE your own wealth.

I work and I'm paid in worthless fiat. If all of us we're paid in gold or silver, the wealth would be more equally shared, no more centralized wealth concentration by central banks and corporations.

do you use a bank?
do you buy products made by corporations?
you do?
well there you have it

I try to avoid those corporations sir. I try my best. And if I eat the 2$ burger at mc donald, I'll come out of there with 2$ worth of napkins. That's the way I do it! And when I go to the bank, I go to the cashier, it's free and it make's the bank pay humans otherwise they would pay for ATM.

By the way, what is a walmart? What is a I phone? things that I don't see often.

Do you buy meat at the grocery store or at the local butcher? I go to the local butcher, to keep those fiats flying around in the neighborhood until they are spent in one theses corporations.

I do my best, my wallet speaks louder than any of my vote will. So before teaching me anything, I practice what I preach, I'm aware of all the shit that surrounds me, but I wish this monopoly game could end and restart.

if I eat the 2$ burger at mc donald, I'll come out of there with 2$ worth of napkins. That's the way I do it!
so you're a thief.
I gotcha.

That's not really fair, @everittdmickey. McDonald's puts the napkins out for people to take. Unless they post a sign or otherwise limit how many napkins customers can take, it is not stealing to take as many as you want.

By the way, what is a walmart? What is a I phone? things that I don't see often
Never mind..

wup, 20$ a box of 22lr in Canadian $ 5 years ago worth at walmart now 50$, I think I know what I'm doing... My investments doubled, while my paycheck shrunk... Benson & Edges for scottwell, loll no way punk

Buy your greasy big macs to pay for my napkins, I can't afford a fucking big cancer mac, and if I could, I wouldn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48