You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Win at Social Media, Lie

in #social8 years ago

Interesting to hear your perspective on what MySpace and Facebook was like in the early days... but I think your post points out more about how honesty is appreciated, even today and even on traditional social media. People can identify more with reality. That's why reality TV has become popular. (I know a lot of it is made up, but most people think it's real..) The facade or branding you mention is not so much lying, but just putting your best foot forward as a person or company. It's fine to focus on the positives. It's a choice and either can be effective. Steemit is more real than anything I've been on, but I wasn't in on the other platforms early. We'll see what happens, but I'm optimistic that this place will continue to keep it real.

Sort:  

True, there are a lot of things I feel comfortable posting on Steemit that I wouldn't on my other social media (the above piece, for example). I wonder if that honesty is more inherent to platforms that are newer and less popular, or if Steemit will continue to be different in the long run. It's fascinating to see the way these sites change with time and use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50