Going back to social networking without doing the same mistakes again

in #social5 years ago (edited)

Image of Collage by Geist

After being a virtual chat addict, growing up with facebook made me believe that it is made for everything but socializing, people said more in virtual Chat rooms in KANEVA or IMVU or HABBO than on facebook and whatsapp combined. By saying more i mean communicating more, having decent discussions that might take more than 10 minutes per topic.
These last five years, i felt that i'm playing a hardcore level in Mario bros with the dragon and all his dragon family, on a loop, with no princess to save and no coins to win. That urging feeling to express myself has been fading away day after day, while i used to enjoy writing my ideas, drawing my imagination and sharing it with some people that i consider as "friends" . But that's just another mistake we early millennials have made, while trusting the blue F.
In the last five years, i have seen many ends and beginnings. Even in an African country as Morocco, i've been seeing people becoming addicted to social media that i never thought they would. I understand, that the need to communicate is a right that every human should be able to use. We are made on earth to live together, to get to know each other, we are different so we can communicate and exchange.
That was the promise. But soon, the evolution of all the mainstream social medial has led to" Social Markets" . Since Media's only real support is through marketing; the evolution is inevitable.
Even though; i said to myself that's not so bad, humans should use all the available means in order to communicate, if they wish to communicate.
And so i thought, for example : it would be easier for artists to sell their Art through social Media. But why isn't it happening yet ? Why is social media failing to make up his promise ? Why is social media using the trust of its naive users in order to get money from their personal use in personal life, without paying them, not even through a promotion ?
I used to write, on my page for almost 400 people, on the 400 i was able to get the engagement of 10%, i never thought of promoting anything because i never thought it would interest anybody to read me. But that was back in the days. So i stopped sharing, after a few months i stopped logging in, then i hated it. A moment after that i stopped writing... I started reconnecting with the real world, the wind, the city, the people. That never was me, i loved internet, i loved socializing on internet, i loved everything about this invention that gave us a hope to be free and connected to anyone anywhere. In a society that is still trying to let go of traditions and conservatism , i was shocked by the way they are using it. They are not using internet, they are using social media. And social media is doomed, it is the trap that catches every lost soul wandering on a google page...
I mean, did anyone get any gift, from their network ? even a virtual one ? Any push in any kind without having to pay anything ?
I don't know i'm ever going to trust social networking again. But I'm going to Steem it out, share with all of you steemians my creations in graphic design, writing and photography !
This collage is just for you, i made it yesterday. This is exactly how going back to social networking feels like for me.

Xoxo,
Sarra Geist!

Sort:  

It's a very interesting perspective ! I kind of have the same questioning sometimes, i think this is being a millennial in this actual world.

Congratulations @sarrageist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Haven't read such a self-reflected text in normal social media for a long time. Thanks! Totally applies to me too..

I guess my facebook has become quite obsolete for me and many of my grown up friends..

Your blog, profile, site or whatever it is called on steemit is the very first one, that I had a closer look at. I finish my first day browsing steemit with a positive feeling and will definitely log in again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97